Jenkins Scholarships

Awards in Memory of Roy Jenkins

Roy Jenkins

The Jenkins Scheme is linked to the Europaeum association of leading European universities. Applicants may be submitted from the University partners within the Europaeum.  These are: the Universities of Oxford, Leiden, Bologna, Bonn, Paris I (Pantheon-Sorbonne), Geneva (the Graduate Institute of International & Development Studies), Prague (Charles University), Helsinki, and Krakow (the Jagiellonian University).

The Jenkins Scholarship Scheme honours the lifelong achievements of the former President of the European Commission (1976-1981) and Chancellor of the University of Oxford (1987-2003). The Roy Jenkins Memorial Fund was set up in 2003-4, to establish scholarships to bring students from the countries of the EU to study at the University of Oxford, and to support Oxford students going onto further study in Europe. 27 Jenkins Scholars have been elected in recent years.

Awards are for now worth £14,000 per annum, usually for one year. Jenkins Scholars will be eligible to study at Oxford for a Masters degree in the Humanities or Social Sciences, the disciplines closest to Lord Jenkins’ own political and literary interests.

Full details of the scheme are available on:; application information is available at The latest poster can be downloaded here.

How to make a donation

For further information, and if you would like to support the scheme with a donation, please contact The Europaeum Office, Oxford, Tel: +44(0)1865284480; or print out and complete the Pledge Form and send it to the Roy Jenkins Memorial Scholarship Fund, Oxenford House, Magdalen Street, Oxford OX1 2AB, United Kingdom.

Thank you for your support.

Jenkins Scholars

Current Scholars

  • Ms Ana Mendez Lopez, from Universidad Complutense de Madrid, to study for a MPhil in Sociology and Demography at Nuffield College, University of Oxford.
  • Ms Minna Nurminen, from University of Helsinki, to study for a MSc in Comparative Social Policy at Wolfson College, University of Oxford.
  • Ms Kristyna Syrova, from Charles University, Prague, to study for a MSt in Celtic Studies at Wolfson College, University of Oxford.
  • The new outgoing Jenkins Scholars for this 2014-15 academic year with partial awards are:
  • Ms Lucy Duggan, from St Hilda’s College, Oxford, to study towards a PhD in Medieval and Modern Languages at Charles University, Prague.
  • Ms Ellen Davies, from Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford, to study towards a PhD in Music Studies at Université Paris-Sorbonne
  • Ms Claire Vergerio, from Baillol College, Oxford, to study towards a PhD in International Relations at the Erik Castrén Institute of International Law and Human Rights of the University of Helsinki