Europaeum Jenkins' Scholarship Scheme Open

Applications are invited for up to six Jenkins Scholarships for the 2012-2013 academic year, including four to study at Oxford.

The Jenkins Scheme is linked to the Europaeum association of leading European universities. Applicants may be submitted from the University partners within the Europaeum.  These are: the Universities of Oxford, Leiden, Bologna, Bonn, Paris I (Pantheon-Sorbonne), Geneva (the Graduate Institute of International & Development Studies), Prague (Charles University), Helsinki, and Krakow (the Jagiellonian University).

The Jenkins Scholarship Scheme honours the lifelong achievements of the former President of the European Commission (1976-1981) and Chancellor of the University of Oxford (1987-2003). The Roy Jenkins Memorial Fund was set up in 2003-4, to create scholarships to bring students from the countries of the European Union to study at the University of Oxford, and to support Oxford students going onto further study in Europe. 13 Jenkins Scholars have been elected in recent years.

Awards are for now a little over c £11,500 per annum, usually for one year. Jenkins Scholars will be eligible to study at Oxford for a Masters degree in the Humanities or Social Sciences, the disciplines closest to Lord Jenkins’ own political and literary interests.

Please note applications for Oxford must be received by 20th January 2012. Full details of the scheme are available on:; application information is available at

Click here to learn more about the scholarship opportunity !!